The region’s football teams prepare to kick off the seasons | News, Sports, Jobs

TL Photo/KIM NORTH ST. CLAIRSVILLE senior Karl Kain dribbles the ball past a Shenandoah defender during ‘Friday Night Futbol’ inside Red Devil Stadium. Kain is one of the main returning players for the Red Devils this season.

The 2021 high school football season has been one for the ages, as several teams in the Times Leader coverage area have had banner seasons.

No team – boys or girls – has ever reached the state tournament. The St. Clairsville boys picked up two wins last season before falling to Chillicothe Unioto in the Division II, Region 7 semi-final, 3-2, on a cold November night in Cambridge.

The Red Devils also played in the OVAC Class 4A title tilt for the third straight season, however, unlike the 2020 and 2019 sides, they failed in a three-round bid, losing to Weir.

Harrison Central and St. Clairsville also had great girls’ seasons.

So much for looking back, prep season began when St. Clairsville hosted Shenandoah on “Friday Night Futbol.”

The teams fielding this year and playing under the boys designation are also mixed teams from Monroe Central and Union Local.

A capsule preview of each team follows:


Saint Clairsville

The Red Devils will have to replace a huge and productive senior class from last year’s 17-4 squad, but

The returnees are seniors Sean O’Grady (D/MF), Luke Miller (MF), Jayson Clark (MF/F), Karl Kain (D/MF) and Maddox Tennar (MF).

“We’re a young team after graduating eight senior starters,” head coach Jeff Roberts said. “We are led by strong seniors with lots of experience and have an excellent freshman class.

“We aim to become OVAC champions again.”

O’Grady and Clark are three-year veterans, while Miller, Kain and Tennar have earned two letters each so far. O’Grady and Kain were honorable mention Eastern District selections a season ago.

Juniors include Chris Schmidt (MF), Marius Trouten (D), Aaron Ni (D/MF), Dereque Johnson (D/MF), Jack Koontz (MF) and Alex Brocklehurst (D). Schmidt is a two-year-old winner.

Sophomores are Carson Hendershot (MF/D), Brady Blacker (D/MF), Kole Facello (MF/F), Hunter Harr (D/MF), Brayden Kralovic (GK), Luke Swan (D/MF ) and Jackson Dutton. (D/MF). Hendershot signed last fall.

Freshmen include Parker Galloway (F/MF), Brennan Rice (F/MF), Talen Rice (GK), Ridge Reven (D), Giovanni Hoehler (D), Tyler Harris (D/MF), Adam Palmer (MF), Jonathan Verardi (MF/F) and Jakob Parr (MF/D).

The assistant coaches are Nate Verardi and Kevin O’Grady. Tommy Brannan is the team’s statistician.

In addition to Caden Stout and high-scoring Andy Thornburg, Andy Schmidt, Lucas Otto, Shane Jackson, Jesse Brannan, Jack Gasber and Brandon Kralovic also lost their degrees.

Harrison Central

The senior Huskies are Taylor Cope, Cameron Dulkoski, Kaden Jurosko and Jace Madzia.

Juniors include Dean Forrester and Jaydis Yoho.

The sophomores are Kayden Dunkle, Brady Elliott, Austin Fulton, Caleb Miller, Cole Saiter, and Brice Tanner.

Freshmen include Zane Carson, Ben Giffin, Julian Moore, Julian Reese, Frankie Shaulis, Samuel Siragusano and Cooper Thompson

Clayton Everhart, Mack Marshall, Jacob Mattern, Benjamin Puskarich and Zane VanCamp lost their degrees.

No other information was provided by the technical staff.

Central Monroe

The seniors are Connell McBurney, Kadelan Griffith, Jaycie Hoff and Remington Weckbacher. McBurney is the defensive captain.

Braden Wilson is the only junior on the team and will serve as offensive captain.

The only sophomore on the list is Mylee McCammon.

Freshmen include Ariel Isaacs, Zachary Babcock, Wyatt Cohen, Mayzie Emery, Bayleigh Burdette, and Avery Fortin.

No other information was provided by the technical staff.

Union Local

The senior jets are Hailey Romshak, Landon Crum, Ahnalyn Davis and Lee Adkins.

Juniors include Cameron Russell, Kennedy Madrzykowski, Rileyjoe Wilson and Logan Parker.

The second year students are Aunica Weaver and Brooke Kreider.

Freshmen include Gage Davis, Jadyn Williams, Bobby Boone, Johnathan Schmitt, Brady Roe, and Landon Heisler.

The head coach is Derek Ackley.

No other information was provided by the technical staff.


Saint Clairsville

The Red Devils (14-3-3) advanced to the district semi-finals last season after qualifying for the Division II regionals for the first time in 2019.

“It should be another great year. We lost a lot of talent and scored goals until graduation, and a few talented girls left the area, but we still have a lot of talent and some are coming into the freshman class who can help us,” said head coach Wes Stoner. “Some girls are going to have to step in and fill those roles that have been left vacant, but we have enough qualified players to do that.”

The seniors are Zoey Russell, Megan Malin, Jocelyhnn Zucco, Hayleigh Harr, GK Rileigh Wood, Grace May and Lacy Tuttle. Russell, Malin and Zucco are three-year winners. Harr, Wood, May and Tuttle are two-year veterans.

Juniors include Delaney Florence, Grace Dutton, Gracie Gardner, Lanie Gardner, MaKenna Booth, Savannah Grim and Emaly Elerick. Florence, Booth and Lanie Gardner also won two letters, with Dutton, Gracie Gardner and Elerick each having one.

The only sophomore is Isabella Yeager, who wrote last fall.

Freshmen are Elizabeth Viczian, Ava Borkoski, Olivia McKeever, Katie Brocklehurst, GK Kailin Hughes and Samantha Jarrett

The co-captains are Malin and Booth.

Brock Ferrell is the assistant coach and Merrick Malin is the team manager.

Four-year graduates at Sierra Musser, Alyssa Bodkin, Jaylyn Gray, Emily Thompson, Emily Mozena and Haven Brak lost their degrees. This group combined for a program record of 48 career victories, one more than the group before them.

Harrison Central

There’s a lot of excitement about the Huskies as they return 15 players from a 7-9-1 squad that qualified for the OVAC Tournament last fall.

Head Coach Mindy Madzia is entering her fifth season. Meghan Scott is his new assistant.

“I look forward to this coming season with the core group of girls we have back and working for their positions on the pitch,” said Madzia. “We continue to improve our presence on the court and hope to return to the OVAC tournament again this year.

“We have tripled our goals from the past and hope to continue with even stronger results this year,” Madzia added. “I have a new assistant coach and she has helped me a lot in preparing for this year’s season.”

Returning winners are seniors Lexi Smith (Fwd), Collette Downs (Mid), Gracie Rogers (D/Mid), Maddy Bender (Mid), Alina Williams (D/Mid) and Hayden Elliott (Mid); juniors Angi Ferri (AV), Isabel Yeager (D), Kat Carman (Mid). Katherine Shearer (D/Guard) and Carys Haney (D); and sophomores Lily Gibbons (Fwd), Vanessa Dowdle (GK), Carleigh Burgess (D) and Avri Puskarich (Mid).

Smith and Downs are the co-captains.

Rounding out Harrison Central’s roster are junior Gretchin Dulkoski (Mid); sophomores Zoe Williamson (Mid/D) and Gabby Stull (Mid); and freshmen Emma Patterson (Mid/F) and Grace Miller (Mid).

“Emma Patterson is a freshman who has played for many years in the youth program and is already showing her presence on the court in outdoor sessions,” noted Madzia. “She will be a good asset to the team.”

Rebecca Downs, Maggie Goudy and Kadence Tanner lost their degrees.

Today’s breaking news and more to your inbox

Leave a Reply