Anthony Macri scores four wins in just five nights | News, Sports, Jobs

The Central PA sprint cars had six shows in five nights for the week. Anthony Macri picked up wins at Bridgeport, NJ on Wednesday, Bloomsburg All Stars on Thursday, Port Royal All Stars on Saturday and the weekend closer at Selinsgrove on Sunday. Macri ran his win total for the year up to eight.

Brent Marks led every round of the annual Tommy Hinnershitz Classic for a $6,000 salary and he earned his first Tezos All Star Circuit of Champions victory of the 2022 season and his first Tommy Classic. Celebrating their 75th anniversary season in 2022, the URC 360 sprint series will make their one and only appearance of the season on Friday night. The club will race in a 25-lap, $1,500 to win main event, plus the 410 sprints as they race in a $5,500 race to win over 25 laps as well.

Williams Grove 358 sprints will be eligible to participate in the URC program as the race is a 358/360 sprint challenge

In Port Royal it was the Keith Kauffman Classic and rivals Macri and Logan Wagner fought an all out war for the $10,000 crown, trading challenge after challenge and slider after slider until one last lap from Macri sealed his winning fate, ultimately securing his second Tezos All Star Circuit of Champions win in three tries, now with five in his career.

In other racing, Macri continued his early season dominance in central Pennsylvania 410 sprint car racing with a win in Sunday night’s Ray Tilley Classic at Selinsgrove Speedway. In a streak of five race nights, Macri won four races.

Macri won $5,088 for his victory in the annual race honoring the memory of all-time sprint car winner and four-time champion Ray Tilley of Pine Grove. It was Macri’s fifth career victory on the track. He also won the fastest time award with a lap time of 16.221 driving the No. 39M.

Brett Schadel took on the challenges of defending track champion Jeff Rine of Danville for his first win of 2022 and his fifth career on the track in the 25-lap super late model feature.

Northumberland’s Bob Bussey returned to victory lane for his 27th career victory in the 12-lap roadrunner race.

Selinsgrove Speedway is back in action at 6 p.m. Saturday with United Racing Club 360 sprint cars, super late models and roadrunners. Gates to the track will open at 4 p.m.

At Lincoln Speedway, Matt Campbell, who finished 2021 at Lincoln with a win in the final race of the season, found himself racing for the new Rutherford Motorsports team in the offseason.

The No. 19R had shown speed on the track, but the team suffered setbacks early in the season.

“It’s been a crazy start this year. The car has been great every week. We are a new team and we had gremlins,” Campbell said.

Campbell won his heat, handicapping him ahead of the final 30 laps. After the struggles the team faced earlier in the season, Campbell couldn’t have said it better: “That’s definitely what we needed here.”

Selinsgrove’s Andrew Yoder is the first all-time limited late model winner at Clinton County Speedway. On Friday, Yoder added another win to his win tally, giving him 20 career wins at the 3/8th mile oval. Brandon Moser won the pro actions, Beech Creek’s Timmy Bitter won the 270 microsprints, and Avis’ Hunter Flook won the four-cylinder main event.

The Mason Dixon 270 sprint series race was held at Path Valley Speedway with Adrian Shaffer taking the lead ahead of a full 24-car lineup. The PASS 305 sprint series was also a special split for the evening with Kruz Kepner taking victory for the featured event.

Jackson Eutzy maintained his lead at the checkered flag, giving him a win from start to finish in the Thunder Cars. The 600 sprints followed the gate with Trever Teats and Jeremy Harshman leading them to the green, and ended with Teats being interviewed in the winner’s circle.


410 sprint cars, 30 laps: 1. Brent Marks, 2. Lance Dewease, 3. Danny Dietrich, 4. Tyler Courtney, 5. Anthony Macri.


410 Sprint Car Results: 1. Anthony Macri, 2. Logan Wagner, 3. Lance Dewease, 4. Ryan Smith, 5. Mike Wagner. USAC East Coast Results: 1. Briggs Danner, 2. Steven Drevicki, 3. Alex Bright, 4. Carmen Perigo, 5. Mark Smith


410 sprint cars, 16 entries, 25 laps A-main: 1. Anthony Macri; 2. Brent brands; 3. Blane Heimbach; 4.Lucas Wolfe; 5.Dylan Norris. Super Late Models, 24 Entry, 25 RPM A-main: 1. Brett Schadel; 2.Jeff Rine; 3.Bryan Bernheisel; 4.Dylan Yoder; 5. Jim Bernheise. Roadrunners, 14 entries, 12 turns A-main: 1. Bob Bussey; 2.Terry Kramer; 3.Nate Romig; 4. Matt Ney; 5. Curtis Lawton.


410 sprint (30 laps): 1. Matt Campbell ($4,000); 2. Tyler Ross; 3.Aaron Bollinger; 4.Chris Arnold; 5. Robbie Kendall. Feature Central PA Legends (20 spins): 1. Travis McClelland ($300); 2. Seth Kearchner; 3.Bob Stough; 4. Chris Transeau; 5. Mike Root. Limited late model finish (20 rounds): 1. Andrew Yoder; 2. Wesley Bonebrake; 3. Bobby Beard; 4.Shaun Miller; 5. Dan Zechman.


Limited Late Models: 1. Andrew Yoder; 2. Matt Cochran; 3.Jim Yoder; 4. Jeremy Ohl; 5. Denny Fourney. Professional Stocks: 1. Brandon Moser; 2. Noah Jensen; 3.Robert Tressler; 4.Tommy Dawson; 5. Cory Long. 270 microsprints: 1. Timmy Bittner; 2. Cody Siegel; 3. Zachary Glass; 4. Brayden Spenser; 5. Macwert. Four cylinders: 1. Hunter Flook; 2. Justin Williams; 3. Bentley Williams Sr.; 4.Chris Small; 5. Zach Kline.


Mason Dixon 270cc pickups (33 cars): 1. Adrian Shaffer; 2.Ryan McAndrew; 3. Brent Bull; 4. Tyler Brown; 5. Cory Myers. Thunder cars (21 cars): 1. Jackson Eutzy; 2.Charlie Stallman; 3.Lyle Barnes; 4. Kevin Barde; 5. Nicolas Barthallow. PASS 305 sprints (22 cars): 1. Kruz Kepner; 2. Kenny Heffner; 3. Doug Dodson; 4.Garett Bard; 5.Owen Dimm. 600cc pickups (15 cars): 1. Trevor Teats; 2. Jeremy Harshman; 3.Brandon Smith; 4.Jim Young; 5. Mike Rynard. Strictly four-cylinder stocks (14 cars): 1. Eric Moats; 2.Jason Goss; 3.David Moore; 4. Jimmy Moyer; 5. Clint Heimbaugh.

Today’s breaking news and more to your inbox

Leave a Reply